Theadamlife

Graduation

Kategori: In English

My little little little brother has grown up and graduated last saturday! The graduation from high school is a very big swedish tradition and looks almost the same anywhere you go in sweden. It doesnt have so much sense to celebrate it anymore really since everyone goes to high school nowadays. A few decades ago it was a bigger thing to celebrate since not so many studied for that many years.

The white hat is the student hat that everyone graduated from high school has to buy. Girls dress in white and guys in suit. At a certain time the teacher or principal of the school opens the front door of the school and officially declare that there is no more school for the students so then everyone starts running out, shouting and singing their joy out to the many relatives waiting outside.




The brothers :)


After shouting and getting presents from the relatives and family (all the stuff hanging around the neck) the students get up on trucks, decorated with the each class members' names and other fun sentences.These trucks drive around town for a while, shouting or playing really loud music, drinking and everyone is taking photos.



I still remember (some parts anyway, hehe) my graduation, best time ever!! I had tears of joy that day, amazing... :)

After all the driving around town, we took my brother home to meet the rest of the whole family. So many people that day but it was really fun! I talked and talked and some cousins even found my thesis interesting enough to read! Very good day indeed :) The weather was also exceptional and after a long long day and too much eating i went to bed totally exhausted.

I guess next time we will have this much party at home again will be next year when my mom has her 50 years birthday... No more graduations in this family anyway! ;)

Kommentarer

  • Lova säger:

    I think you are a little bit wrong in assuming "everyone" will go on to higher studies after this graduation. At least in a small town like ours I would guess that no more than half of us started school again right away. but thats just my guessing. And I'm writing in english so all your international little friends can understand how wrong you are :D

    2010-06-11 | 16:15:56
    Bloggadress: http://lovlin.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här: